Home

Our doors are always open. Take a look around

At Birlinn Ltd, we are home to the finest writing from an astonishing list of authors ranging across nearly every subject area from history to sport, fiction to poetry, children’s titles to academic works.

Check out the ON SALE NOW page where we hope to tempt you to try something new. And stop by the LATEST pages for author interviews, extracts, videos, events and more. To keep up to date with all our latest news, scroll down to sign up to the Birlinn newsletter.

There’s always something new going on.

Birlinn – Publishing in Scotland for the World.

 

BREXIT UPDATE

We have temporarily suspended our deliveries to Europe. As soon as transporting to Europe becomes feasible over the coming months this service will resume.

?

Latest Releases

  • Paperback | Pub: 01 Jul 2021
    £8.99 £7.19

    June 1945. Hitler has triumphed, Britain is under German occupation and America cowers under the threat of nuclear attack. In the dead of night, a figure flits through the ruins of Dryburgh Abbey, searching for a hidden document he knows could…

Featured Author

Alistair Moffat

‘Fans of John Buchan and Robert Harris have a rare treat in store in this ambitious re-imagining of the aftermath of the Second World War’
Sunday Post

‘Ingeniously plausible … A fine act of homage to Buchan. Comfort reading, whether we are subjected to another lockdown or lucky enough to escape’
Allan Massie,?The Scotsman

‘Beautifully crafted – an exciting and moving tale of adventure, a what-if story of subtlety and power’
Alexander McCall Smith

Current Bestsellers

Escape into a Good Book – we can deliver right to your door